Join the thousands of parents and supporters of Missouri's public schools to learn what you can do to help!

What is the Missouri Assessment Program?

The Missouri Assessment Program, or MAP, is a series of assessments that are designed to see if all students in Missouri are meeting Show-Me Standards.

For students in grades 3-8, MAP assessments cover English Language Arts, Math, and Science. High school students are tested in English Language Arts, Math, Science, and Social Studies.

The MAP isn’t just one test — it’s a series of assessments that includes End-of-Course Assessments, Grade Level Assessments, and MAP-Alternate Assessments. Today, we’ll explore each of these in more detail.

End-of-Course Assessments
End-of-Course Assessments (EOCs) are not given at the end of a grade level, but are instead administered at the completion of a course. EOC assessments are offered for Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, Biology, American History and Government.

EOCs include two question types; multiple choice questions and performance events. Multiple choice questions appear on all of Missouri’s EOC assessments. Performance events — which are longer tasks that require students to work through problems, experiments, arguments, or writing — appear only on Algebra I, Biology, and English II EOC assessments.

Beginning with the current school year, all EOCs are administered online. Exceptions are made for students who use Braille or Large Print. EOC assessments are only available in English, so accommodations (and certain exceptions) are also made for English Language Learners (ELLs).

Grade-Level Assessments
Students begin taking Grade-Level Assessments (GLAs) in the 3rd grade, and they continue taking them throughout high school.

Students in the 3rd, 4th, 6th, and 7th grades take GLAs in English Language Arts and Math. Students in the 5th and 8th grades take those two GLAs as well as a science assessment. High school assessments include English I, English II, Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, U.S. History, U.S. Government, and Biology.

GLAs are made up of multiple-choice questions as well as “constructed response” questions. Constructed response questions require students to supply a response rather than being able to choose a response from a multiple-choice list.
GLAs also incorporate TerraNova test questions, which allow Missouri student achievement to be compared to students taking the same test in other states.

MAP-A Assessments
MAP-A Assessments are also aligned with the Show-Me Standards, but are designed to measure student performance based on alternate achievement standards that require teachers to customize the assessment for each individual student.

Only students with severe cognitive disabilities who meet certain criteria are given the MAP-A Assessment. Those students do not participate in GLA or EOC assessments.

Communication Arts MAP-A Assessments are given to students in the 3rd through 8th and 11th grades. Math is assessed in the 3rd through 8th grades and again in the 10th grade. Science MAP-A Assessments are given in the 5th, 8th, and 11th grades.

Was this post helpful? You might also enjoy:
What is the Missouri School Improvement Program?
5 Ways Your Student’s School is Evaluated for Accreditation
Missouri’s Annual Performance Report Released
15 Missouri School Districts Earn 100% of Annual Performance Reviews

3550 Amazonas Drive, Jefferson City, MO 65109. 573-638-4825