Join the thousands of parents and supporters of Missouri's public schools to learn what you can do to help!

8 Missouri Schools Honored with 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools Award

Each year, the U.S. Department of Education honors schools whose students have shown overall academic excellence or overall improvement in academic achievement through its Blue Ribbon Schools Award.

This year, eight Missouri schools have earned this national honor:

Bolivar High School, Brentwood High School, Lee’s Summit West High School, Nixa High School, Sappington Elementary School, Spokane High School, Willow Springs High School, and W.W. Keysor Elementary School are Missouri’s 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools.

According to Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, Blue Ribbon Schools set an example for other schools across the nation:

"National Blue Ribbon schools represent examples of educational excellence, and their work reflects the belief that every child in America deserves a world-class education,” he said.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Award honors public and private schools at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Schools are evaluated on one of two criteria: high performance or improvement.

High performing schools are schools that are ranked among the highest performing schools in the nation in reading and mathematics on national assessments. Student demographics are not taken into account for high performing schools.

Improving schools are those with at least 40% of their populations classified as disadvantaged. These schools have reduced the achievement gap in reading and mathematics in state or national assessments in the past year.

Congratulations to Missouri’s 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools!
Bolivar High School (Bolivar R-I School District, Bolivar)
Brentwood High School (Brentwood School District, Brentwood)
Lee’s Summit West High School (Lee’s Summit R-VII School District, Lee’s Summit)
Nixa High School (Nixa R-II School District, Nixa)
Sappington Elementary School (Lindbergh Schools, St. Louis)
Spokane High School (Spokane R-VII School District, Highlandville)
Willow Springs High School (Willow Springs R-IV School District, Willow Springs)
W.W. Keysor Elementary School (Kirkwood R-VII School District, Kirkwood)

Missouri’s Blue Ribbons School Award recipients will be among the 236 public and 50 private schools who are acknowledged by the U.S. Department of Education at a national recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C. on November 18th and 19th, 2013.

3550 Amazonas Drive, Jefferson City, MO 65109. 573-638-4825